Foliage

My glossy ZZ Plant


Five months ago, my sister Juliet gave me a ZZ Plant (Zamioculcas zamiifolia); it was just an 8-inch long stem with 2 glossy green leaves. It is commonly called the Eternity Plant. My friend Hermi referred to it as Zamia; Gloria Vargas and Juliet called it interchangeably as the Welcome Plant or Fortune Plant due to the fact that most people put this cheerful-looking foliage near entrances, at least here in the Philippines. I potted that single stem with loam soil and decomposed rice hulls. Then, I placed it in a shady area near my gate.

There several things I’ve noticed with this plant.

  • First, it likes bright light and tolerates low light.
  • Second, its direct exposure to sunlight often results with scorched leaves.
  • Third, this plant is cactus-like for it thrives even when neglected. (I didn’t water if for a week and it looked okay!)
  • Fourth, regular watering makes it perform well, hence the glossy look of the leaves.
  • Fifth, pests seemed to stay away from it.


The fifth observation made me ask this important question: Is ZZ Plant poisonous? I just hope not…but of course the plant is for an ornamental purpose and not to be ingested by humans or animals.

2 thoughts on “My glossy ZZ Plant”

  1. Hello, i had a difficulty opening your comment box. In my orchid post you asked for the name of the last photo which received many prices. I missed to get the tag name, but i think it is Vanda sanderiana ‘alba’. You can google and check if it is the same.

  2. hi mama nene! yes, it is poisonous! we have lots of ZZ plants here planted by my mom. they’re very hardy..almost impossible to kill plants. they thrive in shade and little water. happy gardening!

Leave a comment