Succulents

Euphorbia trapifolia

May 9, 2011

Ever, my colleague and plant buddy, gave me a cutting of Euphorbia trapifolia last May 2011. I must admit that I was not attracted with it. Still, I potted it with a sandy-loam soil and gave it a spot a semi-shady area.

so pretty this year

After two weeks,  it produced an offshoot. I transferred this plant (with its offshoot)  in my upper garden where it’s exposed to partial shade in the morning and sunlight in the afternoon. It also gets occasional rain during the wet season.

So far, the plant’s growth is moderate and it looks like an elongated Mammillaria cactus with all that tubercles on its stems. (The stems are around 2-3 cm in diameter.) It started out with 6 fleshy leaves; now, most of the tubercles have cuneate leaves with wavy-like indentations at the tip. Presently, my Euphorbia trapifolia is about 6 inches tall; the offshoot is about 2 inches. How tall would it be when it reaches its maximum growth?…that I still have to find out…

pink-tipped inflorescence
1 thought on “Euphorbia trapifolia”

Leave a Reply

