73 and still gardening

Dendrobium nobile (purple)

this flower opened its fragrant petals early this morning

My grandson thought that this orchid is a “he” because its scented purple flowers  seem to have beards. In reply, I told him that it’s a distinctive look of Dendrobium nobile orchids… These showy orchid flowers could last up to 8 weeks or more (12 weeks maximum) depending on the care they’re given. (To prolong its blooms in my tropical garden, I have to transfer the plant to a safer location away from rain, direct sunlight and snails…)

P.S. – For nearly three months now, I was unable to post photos and stories due to some login issues. I told my daughter about it and she contacted Support the other day; they promptly replied and told her what to do. So, let me say thank you to Happiness Engineers of the WordPress Support Team for the help… More Power! 🙂

2 responses

  1. So nice to see you back, mama nene. I miss your blog. Happy 2012 gardening year and the years to come!

    January 8, 2012 at 7:00 pm

  2. jo

    I have this kind of orchid and it was very nice to bloom in my garden and it smell so good its very addicted scents to me. Love it.

    April 3, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Leave a Reply

