73 and still gardening

Image

Wordless Wednesday: Sea Urchin Cactus

It’s the third time in 2011 that my favorite cactus flowered; it bloomed in February and in May earlier this year. I noticed that every time this particular Sea Urchin Cactus (Echinopsis subdenudata) blooms, it is always on a rainy day/night. It’s frustrating that it stays open for only 24 hours or so. Because of the wind and rain, I failed to see its flowers open in the evening. However, I could still admire its beauty and oh-so sweet perfume in its remaining blooming hours in the morning up to 12 noon. I guess the bees would agree with me…

6 responses

  1. That is SO beautiful! It encourages me to transplant my cacti. The flowers that much more special because of how fleeting they are.

    August 25, 2011 at 12:21 pm

  2. A-h-h…how beautiful! The blooms are so white and lovely! I am enjoying viewing your collection one plant at a time.

    August 25, 2011 at 11:31 pm

  3. always amazes me that such robust plants as cacti can produce such delicate flowers. This one is very pretty but being perfumed is near perfection

    August 26, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    • I often regard them as softie-but-toughie plants…I hope someone could replicate the its scent.

      August 27, 2011 at 6:45 am

Leave a Reply

