73 and still gardening

Wordless Wednesday: Dendrobium hybrid

This Dendrobium orchid is one of the birthday gifts from Sopronia, an orchid delear. When she brought it last August 8, the plant had two sprays of green/purple flowers. I was so attracted to its flowers because of purple coloring on the petals and lips.

Alas, I found one spray on the ground last Monday morning. What to do? I simply put it in a tall vase with a little water. My daughter put some colorful bio-gel granules to add an interesting touch.

3 responses

  1. I like your idea of putting the stem in the glass…how pretty! This specimen has such lovely color contrast.

    August 19, 2011 at 5:54 am

  2. I love dendrobiums. Yours is very special and meaningful. It is beautiful and it’s from a friend. The stalk you put in the vase is a gift from Mother Nature!

    August 19, 2011 at 9:07 am

  3. The aubergine and green is my most favorite color combination — this is an orchid I will be on the hunt for. I love the color!

    August 19, 2011 at 9:26 am

Leave a Reply

