73 and still gardening

Torenia fourneri in bloom

double purple

hot pink on white

blushing pink on white

I got my wish granted. The other week as I was tending my orchids, I saw a single flower peeking in between the pots of Vanda teres. I was so glad for it is a hot pink variety of my Bluewings plants (Torenia fourneri). So, I immediately secured and bagged the herbaceous bluewings surrounding it. And surprise, surprise… After a couple of days, a stalk bloomed with a paler version of the hot-pink. It’s the palest pink I’ve seen so far on Torenias and I have to get closer to it to see its tint.  This species is a perennial; yet, somehow the plant manages to give surprises every now and then. Its flowers are white-plus and the plus could be a variety of hues from blue, purple and pink.

bluer and blue

just lovely flowers in bloom

blue on white

free-blooming perennial

One response

  1. never knew torenia has so many colors! i’ve got the “hot pink on white” one. thanks for sharing mama nene. 🙂

    August 16, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Leave a Reply

