73 and still gardening

Caladiums

For years, I find the versatility of Caladiums (Caladium bicolor) as colorful accents in my garden.  I like to mix several varieties of their colorful foliage in borders, pots and planters. These ornamental plants have arrow-shaped or lance-shaped leaves which could have combination of colors such as red-green, white-green, pink-green, green-white-pink, purple-green, etc. There is so much varieties available in the market to choose from.

My Caladium-mix plants thrive well in a shady area in my garden; I notice their  leaves usually wilt when exposed to full sunlight.These plants also like damp soil and require slow release fertilizer once every 1 1/2 months. However, I also encounter some problems such as rotting, and pest infestation of aphids and spider mites. Anyway, these are some photos of Caladiums growing in my garden:

Leave a Reply

