73 and still gardening

Ti plants for good fortune?

I found these Hawaiian Ti plants (Cordyline fruticosa) with stunning foliage at Mugna Garden Fair, Iligan City in the year 1997. These are also known as Cabbage Palm, Good Luck Plant, Palm Lily, Ti Plant, Kī, La’i in Hawaii. According to most dealers in garden fairs, these are the plants they recommend to create an indoor or tropical look in homes or gardens.

Due to busy schedules at work when I was still teaching, I’ve neglected my Ti plants. So, eventually the supposed to be good-luck plants I’ve purchased from Mugna wilted. Fortunately, my friend Tasing gave me various stem cuttings of these fancy-leaf ornamentals in exchange for other plants.

Those stem cuttings are actually trunks of the plant. I started to plant the leafless 5 inches long stem cuttings in sandy soil. After several weeks, shoots and leaves appear on each stem. With proper amount of light and water, and also a good potting medium, the stem cuttings develop to become trunks with colorful leaves.

With many varieties available in the market, these fancy plants are becoming popular in homes and private gardens. I don’t believe that these plants are luck bringers. However, these plants would improve your appreciation for beautiful things, and thus, they would bring positive energy to your home.

Leave a Reply

