73 and still gardening

Ornamental Hybrid Aloes

Aloe descoingsii x Aloe hawarthioides

Although Aloe vera is the most common and popular among the species of flowering succulents, I don’t limit myself to it. I also collect other types of aloe plants. For example, I found the Aloe descoingsii x Aloe hawarthioides quite interesting. This hybrid plant is the result of two types of the choicest aloes from Madagascar, or so they say. The plant stems form a rosette pattern. The dark green fleshy leaves have white markings all over and the leaf margins have bristles that look like sharp teeth.

I’ve placed this miniature plant in a pot filled with sandy-loam soil and gave it sufficient water. This plant would rot if over-watered so I made sure not to wet the stems.This plant thrived well under the shade of my Siniguelas tree. I have to wait for a couple of years for it to flower.

Aloe 'Doran Black'

Another hybrid aloe is ‘Doran Black’. They say that it took six variety of aloes to create the ‘Doran Black’ and the website Aloe Hybrids explains why it’s named as such. Anyway, I really don’t care where it comes from as long as it wouldn’t wilt under my care. All I could say about it is that the leaves appear to have plenty of raised white tattoo markings at front or back sides. It’s not difficult to care too; it requires partial shade and enough water to survive.

Leave a Reply

