73 and still gardening

A.P. Blue blooming

While I was tending my plants yesterday, I witnessed a violation committed by a furry black winged-insect with bright yellow bands — a bumble bee (Bombus hortorum). I caught the drone in the act when he punctured one of the buds of my Dendrobium ‘A.P. Blue’. I dashed to my Dendrobium cluster as fast as I could. When I got to my orchid, the culprit had flown.

Bombus hortorum

It was too late. The damage has been done. Obviously, the bumble bee got the nectar he wanted for I saw a hole through the blue bud.

t’s a bit disappointing whenever this happens because once bees harvest the orchid’s nectar, the bud or full-bloom flowers begin to wilt. It doesn’t really matter to them as to who cultivated the flowers as long as they got there first before the stingless bees.  Though I understand the competition going on in my garden, I simply wish that the drone would’ve just waited for a few days when the blue flowers are in full bloom.

Blue Dendrobium orchids are indigenous in here in the Philippines and decades ago, these are found mostly in the forests in Mindanao. Due to the flower trade boom, most of these species scarce in the wild but are presently cultivated in orchid farms and in private gardens.

Like most of my orchids, Dendrobium ‘A.P. Blue’  is an easy-to-care hybrid variety from the original blue Dendrobium. The moth-like flowers are about 3 inches wide across and its blooms last for at least 4 weeks.

Leave a Reply

