73 and still gardening

Sun-loving Gumamelas

bi-color gumamela

The Hibiscus plants are locally known throughout the Philippines as the Gumamela.

pink hawaiian hibiscus

Though this plant has short-lived but continuing blooms, the scent-less Gumamela is one of the most widely cultivated of flowers here in my hometown.

white hibiscus with double petals

Presently, I have eleven shrubs of Hibiscus rosa-sinensis along my fence.

soft orange hibiscus flower; this plant was given by Mrs. Jabinez (Jabinez Garden, Ozamiz City)

Eight of my Gumamela shrubs are potted while three of them are planted on the ground. Moreover, nine of these flowering shrubs are hosts to some of my Dendrobium orchids.

Gumamela with red single petals and dark red center

These plants bloom throughout the year for I placed them in the area of my garden where they get a few hours of direct sun every day. I’ve noticed that the bloom life of these flowers are about 2-3 days, with a succession of blooms that last for months.

pink Gumamela with red center

More often, my Hibiscus plants produce gorgeous flowers in vibrant color in red, white, pink, yellow, peach, orange and purple. So for years, I’ve enjoyed their ruffled and trumpet-shaped blooms.

Gumamela, orange single petals with yellow outline

To get more blooms, the rule of the thumb is pinch and prune. Since I don’t want a huge shrub in my garden, I prune my Gumamelas when necessary.  Pinching their growing tips also helps them to branch out. I’ve planted the cuttings in black bags filled with sandy-loam soil.

peach Hibiscus rosa-sinensis flowers

Moreover, these plant are not only ornamental but medicinal as well. Hibiscus rosa-sinensis is one of the plants listed on Philippine herbs. http://www.stuartxchange.org/Gumamela.html

Leave a Reply

