73 and still gardening

Worth a second glance

“Let no one think that real gardening is a bucolic and meditative occupation.  It is an insatiable passion, like everything else to which a man gives his heart.”  ~Karel Čapek, The Gardener’s Year, translated by M. and R. Weatherall, 1931

I would say that my garden space is small. Yet, that doesn’t keep me from collecting plants that have intriguing or remarkable patterned leaves and shapes.  So, I would often barter some cuttings of my plants with ones that are suitable for limited space and average home conditions.

One of those plants that got my attention is the Peperomia sandersii, most commonly known as the Watermelon peperomia. I was attracted to its silvery-striped fleshy leaves the first time I saw it in my friend’s garden. The plant’s dramatic foliage is a perfect addition to my garden or to any cozy home or urban garden.

Moreover, I also found out that watermelon peperomia is easy to grow as well as to propagate. Basically, all peperomias like medium light and warm temperatures; and as long as you plant them in porous soil, they will thrive well. Also, I avoid to over-water them since peperomias are semi-succulent in nature.

The easiest way to increase them is by leaf cuttings ( leaves with firm stems). I would use a sharp knife to sever the leaves from the mother plant, with 1 inch stems attached.Then, I would insert those leaf cuttings in a pot filled with coarse sand to root.

Leave a Reply

